Michael Beard

Board of Commissioners
Title: District 3 Commissioner and Board Vice Chair
Phone: 952-583-7090

District 3

District 3 consists of Precincts 1 through 4; 6 through 8, 12A and 12B in the City of Shakopee.


Commissioner Beard began his service on the County Board in January 2015. His current term will end December 31, 2022.

Commissioner Beard currently serves as the Chair of the Scott County Board.

Community Involvement

Commissioner Beard is a delegate to the following:

  • Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC)
  • AMC Indian Affairs Advisory Committee 
  • AMC Policy Transportation/Infrastructure

Commissioner Beard serves as member of or liaison to the following boards and commissions:

  • Community Corrections Advisory Board
  • Community Development Agency
  • Ditch Boards – Joint: •Scott-Le Sueur Joint Ditch #1 Board
  • Families & Individuals Sharing Hope (FISH):
  • Live, Learn, Earn: •Housing: Engaging Partners/Engaging Community
  • Lower Minnesota River Watershed District
  • Mental Health Local Advisory Council
  • Metropolitan Mosquito Control District Board of Directors:
  • Minnesota Transportation Alliance
  • Prior Lake-Spring Lake Watershed District
  • Regional Hauler Licensing Board
  • Scott County Association for Leadership & Efficiency:
  • Scott County Association for Leadership & Efficiency: •Service Delivery Committee
  • Scott County Justice Steering Committee
  • Scott County Transportation Committee

Alternate Positions

In addition, Commissioner Beard serves as an alternate to the following:

  • I35W Solutions Alliance
  • Minnesota Valley Transit Authority (MVTA)
  • Scott County Employee Insurance Committee
  • Scott County Parks Advisory Commission

Return to Staff Directory