Barb Weckman Brekke

Board of Commissioners
Title: District 1 Commissioner
Phone: 612-616-1086

District 1

District 1 consists of the Cities of Belle Plaine, Jordan (Precincts 1 and 2), New Prague (Precinct 2) and Shakopee (Precinct 5) and the Townships of Belle Plaine, Blakeley, Helena, Jackson, Louisville, St. Lawrence, and Sand Creek.


Commissioner Weckman Brekke began her service on the County Board in January 2017. Her current term will end December 31, 2022.

Community Involvement

Commissioner Weckman Brekke is a delegate to the following:

  • Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC)
  • AMC Health and Human Services Policy Committee

Commissioner Weckman Brekke serves as a member of or liaison to the following boards and commissions:

  • American Federation of State, County, & Municipal Employees (AFSCME) Labor Management Committee
  • County/Court Communication and Policy Committee
  • Dakota-Scott Workforce Development Board
  • Scott-Carver-Dakota Community Action Partnership (CAP)
  • Families and Individuals Sharing Hope (FISH)
  • Human Services Resource Council
  • International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE) Labor Management Committee
  • Law Library Board of Trustees
  • LeSueur-Scott Joint Ditch #4 Board
  • Live, Learn, Earn
  • Live, Learn, Earn Building Early Childhood Network & Campaign
  • Metro Alliance for Healthy Families
  • Metro GIS Board
  • Metropolitan Library Service Agency
  • Minnesota Counties Insurance Trust
  • National Association of Counties (NACo) Human Services and Education Policy Steering Committee
  • Prior Lake-Spring Lake Township Orderly Annexation Board
  • ProAct, Liaison
  • Scott County Association for Leadership and Efficiency (SCALE)
  • Scott County Community Health Board
  • Scott County Ditch Board
  • Scott County Extension Committee
  • Scott County Historical Society
  • Scott County Justice Steering Committee
  • Scott County Library Board of Advisors
  • Scott County Regional Rail Authority
  • Scott County Spirit of Scott
  • Scott-LeSueur Joint Ditch #1 Board
  • Scott-LeSueur Joint Ditch #1, Lateral #2 Board
  • Strategic Plan to End Child Abuse and Neglect Steering Committee

Alternate Positions

In addition, Commissioner Weckman Brekke serves as an alternate to the following:

  • AMC Board of Directors
  • Scott County Planning Advisory Commission/Board of Adjustment
  • Statewide Community Health Advisory Committee


Return to Staff Directory