Communications Division

The Scott County Sheriff’s Communications Division is the Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) for the approximate 139,000 residents of Scott County, as well as the many visitors and commuters traveling throughout the County. The Communications Division, (or Dispatch Center) is made up of 23 employees, including 4 Supervisors, as well as the Division PSAP Coordinator and Director. The Communications Division is staffed 24/7.


The primary duties of a dispatcher include:
  • Answer all 911 phone calls
  • Answer all non - emergency phone calls
  • Dispatch Police, Fire and EMS for Scott County:
    • 8 Police Departments
    • 11 Townships
    • 8 Fire Departments (7 volunteer - 1 full time)
    • 4 Ambulance Services (EMS)
    • Dispatch Fire and EMS for portions of LeSueur, Rice and Sibley Counties
  • Activate the Scott County Warning System
  • Use a Computer Aided Dispatch (CAD) system to collect necessary information to be dispatched to responding units.
Scott County Dispatch Through the Years...